Team GB take Gold in the Individual - Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2014 – Day Three highlights

Alice-Rose Brown

This year’s World Equestrian Games just keeps getting better and better and Team GBR is proving strong across all of the disciplines. Charlotte Dujardin showed the world why she’s number one and Lee Pearson is back on top after his break from team duties.

The Eventing gets underway on Thursday and all of the Team GBR horses made it through the trot up and initial vet’s inspection. Thursday also sees the Endurance competition start, so good luck to the Team GBR quartet!

Here’s more about the third day of the World Equestrian Games:


Charlotte Dujardin proved that she and Valegro really are a dream team by clinching the gold medal in the individual Grand Prix Special. Her score of 86.12% set a new World Equestrian Games record despite a few mistakes when nature called for Valegro!

Charlotte and Valegro can now add World champions to their list of achievements that includes Olympic and European champions.

Team mates Carl Hester and Michael Eilberg both produced strong tests and their “dancing horses” helped them to finish in 12th and 13th place.

Thursday is a day of rest for the Dressage team but they’ll be back in the arena on Friday to contest the Freestyle competition where the final set of individual medals will be decided.

Para Dressage

Team GBR was in the medals again with Lee Pearson and Zion scoring 77.138% putting them back at the top of their game in the Grade Ib championship. Lee had previously taken a break from team duties and after a disappointing performance at the London 2012 Olympics the pressure was on for Lee to put it a good test.

Team mate Ricky Balshaw, also a Grade Ib rider, was disappointed to finish 7th but this still means he goes forward to the Freestyle on Friday so the best may be to come.


All six of the Team GBR Event horses passed the first inspection and will have an early start on Thursday morning when the first phase, Dressage, begins.

This year’s team is made up of William Fox-Pitt, Harry Meade, Zara Phillips, and Tina Cook. Nicola Wilson and Oliver Townend will be competing for Great Britain as individuals.